In view of the uncertainty surrounding venue availability and social distancing measures due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Laila opera experience and the pop-up exhibition, scheduled for 25 February – 3 April at the Hong Kong Maritime Museum and the open area near Central Pier 9, will not take place as originally scheduled. Please visit the Project Laila website for updates and developments.

Permission required

Laila needs Motion permissions for the best experience.
Outreach and educational events
Outreach and educational events
School Tour Demonstration Performance

Programme Information

Harnessing the interplay of sound, light and interactive devices, an immersive school tour demonstration performance with technology that transcends the sensational experiences


Curated by new media artist Keith Lam, the demonstration performance, “Beyond the Firmament”, is a co-creation by three emerging young new media artists - Lazarus Chan, Fung Wing-lam (Cat) and Seth Hon. Specialising in distinct types of media - lights, sounds and interactive projections, they validate the possibilities of the incorporation of technology and performing arts. Through converging computer coding with multiple forms of media, three artists stimulate manifold sensations of the student audiences by turning school halls into an immersive performance space.

Led by movement artist Yan Cheng, audiences are taken to a journey of exploration in a firmament. Curious about everything beyond the zenith, Yan wanders around to search for more. The entire space changes abruptly that triggers a wrestle between human and technology. Joining the performance occasionally, our musical artist, Ian Tang, improvises to create unique sound effects that serve up an intriguingly immersive space to the crowd.

The performance, of which human, art and technology intertwine, breakthrough the traditional form of performing arts. In this show, audiences are not merely audiences, a stage is not only a stage.

Performance Video

Creative Team

Present and Produced by
Hong Kong Arts Festival
Performance Concept
Keith LAM
Media Artist
Lazarus CHAN
Wing Lam FUNG
Seth HON
Movement Artist
Yan CHENG
Musical Artist
Ian TANG
Producer
Michael LEE, Waisun CHUNG
Stage Management Team
Libby CHEUNG, Kayan WONG, Keith LAI, Chun WONG, Hang CHIU, Hoyin LEUNG
Video Direction and Editing
Isaac WOO
Videography
Isaac WOO, Matthew IP, Ho Kwan FOK, Edmond CHOW, Yuk Lung WONG, Kenneth LAM
Rehearsal and Shooting Venue Support
Ng Yuk Secondary School
Outreach Intern
Kiki HONG, Alison LO, Stella AU

Digital Guide

Comments

"I am absolutely delighted to be with students to learn from several local media artists about arts and technology, of which it also inspires me with different possibilities in my future creative process. Bringing this innovative concept of multi-sensational simulation into a school performance, it allows students to experience the glamour of the convergence of arts and technology."


Zeno Koo, Outreach Ambassador of Special Project Laila
"This demonstration provided students, who did not have much exposure to this kind of performance, with an eye-opening experience to have a glimpse of different ways of artistic expressions. Understanding that they might not be able to get the rationales behind, HKAF staff and artists patiently explained with demonstrations which helped them to digest and get the know-how. I could see that students were very curious and drawn into the show."


Ms Chan, Teacher of GCCITKD Lau Pak Lok Secondary School
"The show utilized a wide variety of self-made devices to manifest different effects in a dark environment, which rendered the audience a strong sense of involvement. With the usage of smoke, the performing space evoked a feeling of etherealness. Meanwhile, sound was also an indispensable element in the entire performance, of which the bass made the audiences to focus on the stage unconsciously and immerse in the show, hence provoked a deeper layer of thoughts."


Mr Chan, Student of Tang King Po School
"It is rewarding to know that common projectors can create light rays with distinct shapes and effects such as lines, flakes, waves and scatters. Among all the scenes, one hoop-shaped effect was as mesmerising as a black hole that pulled audiences in."


Miss Chan, Student of Immaculate Heart of Mary College

Participating Schools

SKH Bishop Mok Sau Tseng Secondary School*
Yan Chai Hospital Law Chan Chor Si College*
Ng Yuk Secondary School*
St. Stephen's Girls’ College
Tang King Po School
Hong Kong Taoist Association The Yuen Yuen Institute No. 2 Secondary School
CUHKFAA Chan Chun Ha Secondary School
Immaculate Heart of Mary College
Tang Shiu Kin Victoria Government Secondary School
Queen's College
Ying Wa Girls' College
Wa Ying College
Methodist College
Shatin Pui Ying College
South Tuen Mun Government Secondary School
GCCITKD Lau Pak Lok Secondary School
Carmel Bunnan Tong Memorial Secondary School
Hoi Ping Chamber of Commerce Secondary School
Caritas Fanling Chan Chun Ha Secondary School (Video)
Liu Po Shan Memorial College (Video)
*Our Outreach Ambassador Zeno Koo was present.

因應新型冠狀病毒病疫情的發展及政府的最新指引,表演場地的開放情況仍存在變數,香港藝術節宣布,於2月25日至4月3日在香港海事博物館及中環9號碼頭戶外空地的節目《拉娜》及期間限定展覽,將未能如期進行。請密切留意本網站的最新資訊。

Permission required

Laila 需要 Motion 權限以獲得最佳體驗。
外展及教育活動
外展及教育活動
到校巡迴示範演出

演出簡介

運用科技首創校園「沉浸式」互動演出 以交錯的音樂、光影、互動裝置打破傳統到校演出的感官體驗


《方圓之外》由新媒體藝術家林欣傑先生策動三位年輕新晉藝術家——陳朗丰先生、馮穎琳小姐和韓家俊先生共同創作。他們分別專注於不同媒體類型,包括光影、聲音和互動影像,把科技與藝術的多感官可塑性融合於表演藝術中。通過程式編寫結合多種媒體的運用,令學校禮堂搖身一變成為人類與電腦操控的演出空間,從聽覺、視覺到觸覺交錯演繹,觸動觀眾的多層感官。

形體藝術家鄭雅茵小姐帶領觀眾經歷一場探索空間的旅程——她對於浩瀚宇宙中的各種事物都充滿好奇,然而在探索之中,卻慢慢與同學介入發展進程,甚至引發空間變異,啟動了一次人類與科技的角力。樂手鄧一言先生亦參與部分演出,現場創造獨一無二的聲效,打造沉浸式的空間吸引觀眾。

人類、藝術與科技共同演出以打破傳統表演藝術的格局。在這場演出中,觀眾不只是觀眾、舞台不單是舞台、場景不再靜止。

演出錄像

製作團隊

監製
香港藝術節
演出概念
林欣傑
媒體藝術家
陳朗丰
馮穎琳
韓家俊
形體藝術家
鄭雅茵
現場音樂演出
鄧一言
製作人
李玨熙、鍾維新
舞台管理組
張惠婷、黃嘉恩、賴泳其、
黃嘉浚、趙柏亨、梁皓然
錄影導演、剪接
胡兆軒
拍攝
胡兆軒、葉敬軒、霍浩焜、
鄒繼樟、黃育龍、林健榮
排練及拍攝場地提供
五育中學
外展實習生
洪子祈、羅樂遙、區詩慧

導賞手冊

評語節錄

「我十分高興能夠和同學一起,與香港年輕新媒體藝術家學習藝術與科技,亦啟發自己日後創作的各種可能性。這個演出把極具創意的感官交錯概念帶入學校,讓同學現場感受藝術與科技的魅力。」


《拉娜》外展大使顧定軒
「由於學生平常不多接觸這類型的演出,這場示範演出可以讓他們大開眼界,了解不同方式的藝術表達。學生觀賞時未必能夠完全理解當中意思,藝術節安排的示範講解部分,正正可以幫助同學消化,我見同學都非常專心及表示好奇。」


東莞工商總會劉百樂中學陳老師
「節目運用了很多自製裝置製造出不同特殊效果,加上演出發生在漆黑環境,觀眾有很強的代入感,配合煙霧效果,表演場景有種虛無飄渺感覺。音效也是表演中不可或缺的一部分,音效中的重低音部分讓觀眾不自覺地專注在舞台中間的形體表演上,讓觀眾能夠更加沉浸在表演當中,觀眾亦能被帶動到更深層的思考。」


鄧鏡波學校李同學
「原來透過常見的投影機,加上煙霧效果,便可以讓觀眾看到光線走過的痕跡,製造出條狀、片狀、波浪、散射等效果,其中一幕光線組成圓環形狀,猶如黑洞般把觀眾吸進去。」


聖母無玷聖心書院陳同學

參與學校

聖公會莫壽增會督中學*
仁濟醫院羅陳楚思中學*
五育中學*
聖士提反女子中學
鄧鏡波學校
香港道教聯合會圓玄學院第二中學
香港中文大學校友會聯會陳震夏中學
聖母無玷聖心書院
鄧肇堅維多利亞官立中學
皇仁書院
英華女學校
華英中學
循道中學
沙田培英中學
南屯門官立中學
東莞工商總會劉百樂中學
迦密唐賓南紀念中學
旅港開平商會中學
明愛粉嶺陳震夏中學(播放錄影)
廖寶珊紀念書院(播放錄影)
*外展大使顧定軒演出場次